What to Write About?

As I begin to write this one of the five I must do each week, I think back to my beloved father as I did not realize him to be before he diagnosed the Alzheimer’s which took him so mercifully, just as he went through the stages he predicted so accurately. He was probably the most intelligent person I ever knew, but I just took him for granite, which he was indeed. What a doctor he would have been, but he was busy at other matters, like putting together the North end of Halifax after the December 6, 1912 Halifax Explosion, the greatest man-made explosion before the atomic bomb. This is off my subject, somewhat, which is ‘What to write about’. By the way, Dad was the first minister of the United Church of Canada, seven years or so before it was formed, and so each Sunday he preached a sermon, aimed at the converted, the not-so converted, and the hopeless. To get back to my subject.

In his case, it was ‘What to preach about’ and he had the answer to that. “Preach for about twenty minutes”; nobody listens longer than that, even God, who has so many good, bad and awful preachers trying to hold His attention as the they lose the attention of the faithful in the pews.

As I go about my blogs, I can hear him. This is of course why I cleverly do first a written page. If you can’t make your point in twenty minutes, I mean one written page, it can’t be much of a point. Have I made my point?

~ by dkcrowdis on November 6, 2008.

8 Responses to “What to Write About?”

  1. Welcome back! I’m glad you have returned. You have made your point and I should stop answering rethoric questions. 🙂

  2. Hi Don,
    Glad to hear from you again! And three times in one day – not bad, not bad at all. “What to write about” – indeed a difficult matter. It’s great to hear about your father, believe you have written about him earlier.
    Keep on writing!
    Anita (who always asks herself “what to write about”)

  3. I agree with your father, Don. Twenty minutes is plenty long enough for a sermon!

  4. I love your writing, Don. I’m glad you’re still out there posting as I lost touch with your blog. My grandfather died of Alzheimer’s back before anybody even knew what it was. He went so fast and I was always sad about that, but when you wrote about your father today, it’s the first time I considered that perhaps it was for the best. Keep on writing. You have a way with words.

  5. Twenty minutes is too long for a sermon, in my opinion. Can’t the point be made in a minute or two?

    Just stumbled upon your blog by the way. Very in awe.

  6. On an impulse, I went searching for your old blog, remembering that it hadn’t been updated in a long time – and lo and behold, you have a new one! I’m so glad you’re still writing – I used to always look forward to another entry from you. You always have some interesting and thought-provoking things to say.

    I do hope you update again soon – it’s already December!
    And as for your subject – It’s very interesting to hear about your dad. It’s odd that so many people have predicted their own deaths at a certain age. My own yiayia (grandma) accurately predicted that she would die of a rare brain disease, and that it would happen very quickly, and that it did.

    Odd part of the blog to focus on, my apologies. 🙂

  7. I am sorry I have not come across your blog sooner. I have enjoyed reading your recent entries and will continue to enjoy reading these as long as you continue to write them.

    I hope to publish entries that are as thought provoking as yours.

    Thank you for writing.

  8. I found your blog there you were another Nova Scotian. My family came over on the ship Hector. I’m proud of that history. Mom and Dad also remember the Halifax explosion.
    My Mom is 90 and Dad is 93 they are proud Nova Scotian”s from New Glasgow n.s. Dad is still on his computer and enjoying it I guess you have proven to me it doesn’t madder how long you live its never to late to start. Please keep blogging n.j. DeWolfe

Leave a Reply

 
